Making your Character on Maya

Alright, Time to see what you guys can do with your new found skills!

Just let me eat my breakfast (gets veggie patty ready) and then we will be on our way!

Okay, so first in Maya, click on Create, and then any of the curve options if you want your character to be not one particular shape. My character, Davie, I made using only curves for the head and body, two spheres for eyes, a taurus for his halo, and three cones for the ghost-like ending to his body. It will be best if you add Snap Key to the curve, but it’s optional. OKAY! So, first, make the head of your character. It can be anything you want it to be. HOWEVER: make sure you take into account that we will be using Revolve, making your model 3D. So make sure you don’t make a star out of one curve. Try something simple, like a cone or a sphere. When the curve is done,hit enter and BAM; your head is made! CLICK REVOLVE(it’s under surfaces). Next, your character needs eyes. Give him/her as many spheres as you want for the eyes, and re-scale them to any size you want too.

After that, make the body out of either curves, objects, or a mix of both(I did the mix for Davie).Of course you guys remembered to click Revolve every curve when you hit enter, right? Do the same thing for hands and feet.

Finally, you need to parent the body with the appendages and eyes. So, hold Shift, and click all the objects. Now go under Edit, and click Parent. Now every part of your creation is connected. CONGRATS! YOUR VERY OWN LITTLE ANIMATION BABY! Next time I’ll teach you about Jointing things.

If you have any questions, email me at balgowr1@tcnj.edu

Have a great day guys!

Davie

btw, this is Davie if you don’t know who I’m talking about

~ by shadowdroid677 on March 15, 2013.

40 Responses to “Making your Character on Maya”

  1. What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious knowledge regarding unexpected feelings.

  2. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog
    post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same
    subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you’re interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by the way!

  3. Positive Reinforcements for Results…

    You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the paintings you write. The arena hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart….

  4. I all the time emailed this blog post page to all my associates, since if like to read it afterward
    my contacts will too.

  5. Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem along with your website in internet explorer, might test this? IE nonetheless is the market leader and a large part of folks will leave out your magnificent writing because of this problem.

    • From what I have gathered, Internet Explorer has multiple problems involving different websites. From my intel, it seems that it’s not something that I can repair. It’s just a server problem, not a problem the blog experiences. If possible, try using a different internet browser to load the page or try configuring the HTML for IE. I hope I helped!

  6. Attractive component of content. I just became aware of your site plus
    accession capital to assert i be in fact enjoyed account your
    blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing on your feeds as well as I achievement you access consistently fast.

  7. Greetings,
    Am utilizing Hp LaserJet 1018 printer for my Mac publication pro.
    In fact am used home windows xp previously to my system. Now it is updated with
    Mac OS X Snow leopard. However right here is a problem with vehicle drivers that
    not able to function well with the system.

  8. Now I am going to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming again to read further news.

  9. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  10. Sir, pls send out that video to my e-mail I.
    D. It will be assistance ful 2 make pcb easy.
    Thankyou.

  11. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established
    blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Appreciate it

  12. I got this web page from my friend who shared with
    me on the topic of this web site and at the moment this time I am
    browsing this web site and reading very informative posts at this place.

  13. very appealing article.
    I am receiving an error:
    PS limitcheck mistake, angering command “setpagedevice”.

  14. Right here is the right site for everyone who wants to understand this topic.
    You know a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a new spin on a subject that
    has been written about for decades. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  15. If some one needs to be updated with most recent technologies after that he must be visit this website and
    be up to date daily.

  16. My brother suggested I might like this web site.
    He was totally right. This put up actually made my day.

    You cann’t believe simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  17. I was pretty pleased to uncover this site.
    I want to to thank you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!
    ! I definitely loved every little bit of it and I have you book-marked to check out new information in your web site.

  18. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

  19. Wow, this post is nice, my younger sister is analyzing such things, therefore I am going
    to let know her.

  20. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, awesome site!

  21. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images
    on this blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  22. I think this is among the most important info for me.
    And i am glad reading your article. But should remark
    on few general things, The web site style is
    ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  23. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and
    sources back to your site? My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my
    visitors would truly benefit from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Appreciate it!

  24. We stumbled over here coming from a different website and thought I may as well check things
    out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to looking into your web page repeatedly.

  25. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really smartly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to learn more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  26. I’m pretty pleased to find this website. I need to to thank you for ones time for this particularly fantastic read!! I definitely liked every little bit of it and I have you book marked to check out new things on your website.

  27. Right now it appears like Drupal is the preferred blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using
    on your blog?

Leave a Reply

 
